Procrastination… doing the dinosaur!

After long period of doing nothing I’ve recently got things moving with my blog… but this weekend I can feel an old demon sitting on my keyboard calling at me “Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after. “ Mr Procrastination.

Oh dear I can feel the excuses begin to wash over me… maybe tomorrow… I think the ironing needs doing… I need to relax… I should call my mum… I really must dust the skirting boards… I’ll just check my email… a game of angry birds might get me in the mood.

Usually I barely recognise procrastination setting in… that is unless I take a look at the pile of unopened letters on my kitchen worktop. But I was alerted to its presence this week whilst on the Eurostar to Paris. Whilst I was surfing the net on my smart phone I came across an article on the bbc website about procrastination – ironically it had caught my attention because I had promised myself I would use the time on the train to prepare for the meeting in Paris and here I was having convinced myself that the preparation I needed for the meeting was to play with my phone and chill out – well it was 6.00am. The article wasn’t offering much in the way of advice to overcome the affliction; it was a list of reader’s tales of procrastination. This was far more therapeutic … there’s something comforting about knowing that you’re not suffering alone. One story in particular made me chuckle; I’ve recounted it below.

A friend of mine, who I’ll call “Dave” (because that was his name), said he would do anything to avoid A-level revision. At one point he infamously found himself weighing the cat, convinced that he would only be able to settle down to work if he had that data to hand. As a result, some 25 years later, the act of procrastination is referred to by my family as “weighing the cat”.

If you want to read the others on the bbc website follow the link.

Now where’s that cat.

5 thoughts on “Procrastination… doing the dinosaur!

  1. I saw this and thought, “I should reply”. Only just got around to doing it though. The only reason I am replying is that it is critical that i do before finding a reason to put more work off

  2. Arbitrarily picking up on one of your posts, I can understand the need to weigh the cat. To that end I bought a quality digital baby weighing device with all sorts of smart features to enable accurate weighing of ‘wriggling’ things. To be fair, the excitement of cat weighing wore off quite quickly and I’ve found plenty more interesting things to measure. Amazon has also finally stopped suggesting baby products that I may “also be interested in”. No cat products though, seems like Amazon haven’t grasped the full needs of cat weighing, despite being one of the main beneficiaries.

Leave a Reply

